Aug 14th, 2024 - Introductions



Music: Level Editor A From Mega Man Maker


Hello random stranger on the internet! I've never written a blog on the internet before, so just bare with me here. 'course, I keep saying that, but at some point I just need to do things instead of trying to preface a million times.

So, hello! My name is (Not) Thumtacka AKA Thum, thumbtack or however you wanna say it! My hobbies include playing vidyagames, drawing, watching videos, hanging out with friends, and... not much else. Not the most outgoing lifestyle, I know :[
I'm a 19-year-old recovering from social ineptitude and going to college. I work at a busy fast food joint (yeah, yeah, laugh it up. let's see YOU try it, tough guy!), and try to make time for friends when I can (even if a lot of the time I lack the energy needed to hang out more often. That, and I suck at texting people LMAO)

Growing up, I always had a hidden/passing interest in the older internet. I was sentient around the time of Windows 7, and the whole skeumorphic/Frutiger Aero phase of corporate design (even if I was a real wee lad back then), so that's always been a strong point of nostalgia for me. I was also around when Flipnote Hatena was a thing, watching a bunch of different flipnotes when I would go to visit my mother and siblings. I didn't have a real good grasp of the internet back then, so I just thought it was the place where you go to watch funny videos or play fun games.

Anyway, fast forward to now. Sites have changed their designs over and over to look more uniform, more rounded, more... minimalistic and, you guessed it, "corporate". it really didn't sit well with me. At the time, it was partly due to my brain not liking change, but it really felt like websites were homogenizing, losing their identity. What really got to me was the sanding of edges; nothing's a defined square on social media platforms anymore. Some people may like the look, but to me, it makes things pop less. Something about the jagged edges makes websites seem more personable. More transparent, down-to-earth. It's defined, and easier to understand instead of literally cutting corners. I don't know, maybe other people agree, maybe they don't, it's just a weirdly specific thing.
Still. As of recent I've really come to like places that mimic the old internet (think BitView, SpaceHey, and the hosting website you're viewing this on). I should probably gather the willpower to participate in forums, but those are neat too! Anyway, I'm learning about these old web revival sites, and I decide to check out Neocities.
... And I can't figure it out. To be fair, Neocities's tutorial was REALLY basic, and didn't cover CSS styling at all, so I kinda left the website I made in a... REALLY poor state.

So, eventually I came across Nekoweb from looking at developer dimden's page (I had followed them since I was using OldTwitter), and mostly decided to sign up because I thought the prospect of multiple cursors on a page was awesome (I would later come to learn that it wasn't on EVERY page, but still. it's awesome nonetheless!!!!) Long story short, building a website here has sorta forced me to learn CSS styling. And my website is better for it!
I still have a lot to flesh out on my page, I know. I'll be honest, sometimes I go looking at other people's pages and think, "man! theirs is so tightly designed... I could never do that", but I gotta realize that different people have different styles. Part of that whole "personalization" thing, y'know? Anyway, I'll finish this shit, just you wait!!!


Previous | Next